SMC Recognizes New Honor Society Inductees

SMC Inducts 50 Students Across Three Honor Societies

SMC honored 50 students at its Honor Society Induction ceremony.

Spartanburg Methodist College (SMC) held an induction ceremony for its three honor societies on March 30, recognizing 50 students for their achievements.

“Being recognized for your academic achievements is something to be proud of,” Dr. Curt Laird, SMC provost and executive vice president, told the students. “You have earned the right to be here, so enjoy it and prosper on.”

SMC inducted 29 students into Sigma Kappa Delta, the national English honor society. Students receiving this honor achieved an overall grade point average (GPA) of 3.3 or higher with a minimum of one course in English or literature. The students were inducted by faculty advisor Dr. Dalicia Raymond.

Professor Karla Reed inducted 16 students into Psi Beta, the national honor society in psychology. These students earned an overall GPA of 3.25 or better with a B average or better in Psychology 101 and/or 201. Students are also required to exhibit a high standard of personal behavior and integrity.

Finally, the College inducted 18 students into Phi Theta Kappa, the national scholastic honor society. Students had to earn an overall GPA of 3.5 or better with a minimum of 16 academic hours and be of good moral character and possess recognized good qualities of citizenship. Dr. Adam Siegfried inducted the students.

“We are proud to recognize these outstanding students for their academic achievements,” said Scott Cochran, president of SMC. “They represent the top of their class in each academic discipline and they are a credit to SMC.”

Among the 50 students recognized, 11 were inducted into more than one of the societies. The following students were inducted:

Sigma Kappa Delta inductees:

Hannah Autry, Andreas Barker, Isabella Brazell, Jamison Brown, Hannon El-Sherif, Angel Garrett, Deshaunay Genius, Joshua Golden, Olivia Jackson, Jasmion’a Lang, Cade Loftis, Aidan Simmons, Makenzie Simmons, Matthew Simmons, Caeden Sims, Josie Thompson-Fenn, Kayla Tucker, and Canaan J. Turner. Not pictured: Karmen Bailey, Matthew Eiken, Kobe Goodyear, Angel Hernandez-Resendiz, Roger Herrera, Daniel Jennings, Jeffrey Long, Charles Starnes, Summer Surrett, Blake Wall, and Jadon Welch.

Psi Beta inductees:

Isabella Brazell, Dania Castellon, Amaya Duckett, Allena Gauvin, Drew Green, Martha Hooper, Isaac Maralit, Jalina Miller, and Makenzie Simmons. Not pictured: Karmen Bailey, Kyra Hutcherson, Shaheedah Ibraheem, Megan Rice, Brianna Robbins, Sidney Russell, and Summer Surrett.

Phi Theta Kappa inductees:

Hannah Autry, Jessica Bonds, Cody Fortier, Jada Howze, Isaac Maralit, Aidan Simmons, Makenzie Simmons, Matthew Simmons, and Peyton Smith. Not pictured: Karmen Bailey, Amber Bellamy, Tiffany DeMint, Gabriel Hammonds, Daniel Jennings, Mary Johnson, Megan Rice, Bonnie Moody, and Jadon Welch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *