Experience Community


Image
Whether you live on campus or commute, you experience Community at SMC.
COMMUNITY LIFE

For information about our on-campus dining options, please visit Food & Drink.

Residence halls
Our residence halls were designed with students in mind! Community Life at Spartanburg Methodist College ensures that you experience comfortable living while engaging with your Pioneer community.

 
 

Locked out of your room?Call 864.978.7098
to reach the on-call
Residence Life staffer 24/7.


Area Coordinators
Area Coordinators are available during business hours. If you need something on nights/weekends, please use the on-call number above, or reach out to Campus Security.
Kingman, Judd & ParsonsTy Taylor
864.587.4272
TaylorT@smcsc.edu
Willard & HammondRashad Cockrell
864.587.4135
CockrellR@smcsc.edu
Bridges & SparrowReed Jostes
864.587.4537
JostesR@smcsc.edu

CAMPUS SAFETY

The mission of the Campus Safety Department is to support student learning by providing a campus environment that discourages crime and promotes safety through effective law enforcement and positive relations with the community.

Office & location
The Campus Safety Department at Spartanburg Methodist College operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are located behind Kingman Residence Hall.

Authority & jurisdiction
Our Campus Police Officers are:
  • Class 1 Police Officers certified through the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy and State and South Carolina State Constables through the South Carolina Law Enforcement Division (S.L.E.D.).
  • Given authority to make arrests, write traffic citations and conduct investigations off campus if necessary.

The Campus Safety Department’s police jurisdiction includes the campus and all roadways contiguous to the college’s property. SMC’s Campus Safety Department regularly patrols within its jurisdiction in marked police cars and handles all calls for services including: law enforcement, investigations, traffic enforcement and collision investigation, public assistance, and first aid.

Annual crime report
The SMC Campus Safety Department prepares the Annual Crime Report to comply with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Crime Statistics Act.

View the SMC 2016-2018 3 Year Crime Statistics
View the SMC Emergency Procedures 2018-2019
Emergency?Call 911
24/7 Officer Phone:864.587.4003

Our Officers
Chris Carter
Chief of Campus Safety
CarterC@smcsc.edu
James Kennington
Operations Lieutenant
KenningtonJ@smcsc.edu
Marcie Hall
Campus Police Officer,
Class 3
HallM@smcsc.edu
Andrew Tomlinson
Campus Police Officer
TomlinsonA@smcsc.edu

Frequently Asked Questions