Experience Community


Image
Whether you live on campus or commute, you experience Community at SMC.
COMMUNITY LIFE

Locked out of your room?
Willard, Hammond, Judd: Call 864.978.7334
Judd, Bridges, Sparrow: Call 864.978.7239


The X

The X is the second story of the Burgess Student Center (above the Dining Commons).  


The X is the home of:
  • 24/7 Student Lounge
  • Counseling Center
  • 24/7 "Flex Space" with Kitchen area & Vending
  • SMCX Staff Offices
Whether you're a student looking for a place to relax, or a commuter looking for a place to heat your lunch, The X is a versatile space for all students!

  • X Lounge with Students playing pool
  • Full View of The X Student Lounge
  • The X Flex Space and Kitchen
  • The X Flex Space and Vending

RESIDENCE HALLS

Our residence halls were designed with students in mind! Community Life at Spartanburg Methodist College ensures that you experience comfortable living while engaging with your Pioneer community. When you move in your first year, you'll get the help of some awesome volunteers (check out the video on the right!).

Click on any residence hall below to learn more, see photos, or download a floorplan.




SMCX Community leadership

DeAndre Howard
Dr. DeAndre HowardDean of Community Wellness
864.699.4632
HowardD@smcsc.edu
The X, Office 245
Corey Bell
Corey BellDirector of Community Life
864.278.6276
BellC@smcsc.edu
The X, Office 213
Westley Brand
Westley BrandAssistant Director of Community Life
BrandW@smcsc.edu
The X, Suite 212

Allyson Brown
Allyson BrownDirector of Diversity,
Equity, & Inclusion
BrownA@smcsc.edu
The X, Office 214
Photo coming soon
Keith JamesDirector of Title IX
& Equal Opportunity
JamesK@smcsc.edu
The X, Office 204

CAMPUS SAFETY

The mission of the Campus Safety Department is to support student learning by providing a campus environment that discourages crime and promotes safety through effective law enforcement and positive relations with the community.

Our department is staffed with experienced police officers that are full-time employees of Spartanburg Methodist College. Our officers work rotating schedules to ensure around-the-clock coverage within the jurisdiction, which includes the SMC campus and all roadways contiguous to the college’s property.

Office & location
The Campus Safety Department at Spartanburg Methodist College operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are located behind Kingman Residence Hall.

Certification & Authority
Campus Safety Directional Sign
Our Campus Police Officers are:
  • Class 1 certified through the South Carolina Criminal Justice Academy and commissioned as South Carolina State Constables.
  • All officers are also CPR/AED certified and trained in first aid.
  • SMC campus police officers have authority to perform all law enforcement duties to include:
    • Handling calls for service
    • Patrolling within the jurisdiction
    • Making arrests
    • Enforcing traffic laws
    • Writing citations
    • Conducting criminal investigations

Annual crime report

The SMC Campus Safety Department prepares the Annual Crime Report to comply with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Crime Statistics Act.

View the SMC 2018-2020 Crime Report and Fire Safety Report

View the SMC Emergency Procedures 2021 -2022

Emergency?Call 911
24/7 Officer Phone:864.587.4003

Our Officers
Chris Carter
Chief of Campus Safety
CarterC@smcsc.edu
Kevin Rhodes
Operations Lieutenant
RhodesK@smcsc.edu
James Kershaw
Campus Police Officer,
Class 1
KershawJ@smcsc.edu
Marcie Hall
Campus Police Officer,
Class 3
HallM@smcsc.edu
Caleb Rivera
Campus Police Officer,
Class 1
RiveraC@smcsc.edu
Ryan Clark
Campus Police Officer,
Class 1
ClarkR@smcsc.edu

Community life Frequently Asked Questions